IPL 2020, DC vs RR: Bowlers Shine, Power Delhi Capitals To 13-Run Win Against Rajasthan Royals In Last Over Thriller

Delhi Capitals bowlers bowled remarkably well after fifties from Shikhar Dhawan and skipper Shreyas Iyer to power their team to 13-run win against Rajasthan Royals at Dubai on Wednesday. Debutante Tushar Deshpande successfully defended 22 runs in the last over to power his team to an amazing victory in his first ever IPL game. With this win, Iyer-skippered Delhi Capitals grabbed the first spot in the IPL 2020 points table.

Rajasthan openers Buttler and Ben Stokes gave Rajasthan a flying start but the DC bowlers departed Buttler and skipper Steve Smith in quick successions to put themselves on top in the chase early on. Even after losing early wickets, mighty English all-rounder Stokes showed resistance and looked solid at 41 but debutante Deshpande made him his first IPL wicket to end his stay at the crease.

Chasing 162 for the win, Ben Stokes continued to open for Rajasthan Royals with his opening partner Jos Buttler and Anrich Nortje bowled the first over. Stokes had failed to fire with his bat in the last game for RR but tonight he provided a super start by getting back-to-back boundaries in the second over off Kagiso Rabada.

ALSO READ | Pakistan’s Kamran Akmal Scripts History, Becomes World’s First Wicket-Keeper To Effect 100 Stumpings In T20 Cricket

Anrich Nortje continued to bowl from the other end. Jos Buttler continued to make life difficult for Nortje by hitting him for fours and sixes in the third over. However, the bowler had the last laugh as after hitting a six and 2 boundaries, Nortje rattled Buttler’s stump on the final delivery to get the much-needed breakthrough for his team.

Rajasthan Royals captain Steve Smith’s poor form in the IPL continued as veteran spinner R Ashwin completed a simple caught and bowled to remove the RR captain for just one run.

At the end of powerplay, RR were 50 for loss of two wickets. Ben Stokes was playing fierce-less cricket and looked in cruise control as Rajasthan galloped towards their target. However, Delhi Capitals again pulled back things in their favour by getting rid of him for 35-ball 41 in the 11th over. Tushar Deshpande bagged his first IPL wicket after Stokes holes out to long-on trying to smash him for a six.

In the next over, Axar Patel delivered just when his team needed the most and clattered Samson’s stumps to remove another set batsman and send him back to the pavilion for a fiery 18-ball 25.

ALSO READ | IPL 2020: RCB Skipper Virat Kohli Reveals What’s Inside Hit Kit Bag – Watch

Veteran batsman Robin Uthappa was holding one end with in-form Riyan Parag, who was the game-changer for his team in their last game. But, miscommunication in the middle between the duo resulted in Riyan Parag getting run out at the non-strikers’ end, courtesy a good throw from bowler Axar Patel.

RR’s best finisher Rahul Tewatia was the new man in and was in a position once again to help his team win another thriller. 29 runs were needed off the last three overs. Nortje bowled a peach of a delivery to get Uthappa clean bowled for 32 to put immense pressure on the Royals.

Archer, the next man in was departed by Rabada for 1 with RR needing 22 runs off the last over. Debutante Tushar Deshpande successfully defended 22 runs in the last over to power his team to a 13-run victory.

Earlier, DC won the toss and elected to bat first. Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer steadied the sinking ship of Delhi Capitals with their 85-run partnership for the 3rd-wicket to propel their team to 161/7 against Rajasthan Royals at Dubai international cricket stadium on Wednesday.

For RR, their star all-rounder Jofra Archer was the pick of the bowlers as he cleaned up Prithvi Shaw and Ajinkya Rahane in successive overs to give his team a perfect start. In the end, Alex Carey and Marcus Stoinis did their job by hitting some aggressive strokes to help their team make a respectable total.


Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler(w), Steven Smith(c), Sanju Samson, Robin Uthappa, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat, Kartik Tyagi

Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer(c), Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey(w), Axar Patel, Tushar Deshpande, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: