IPL 2020, CSK Vs RR Toss Updates: Chennai Super Kings Wins Toss, Opts To Bat First Against Rajasthan At Abu Dhabi

Mahendra Singh Dhoni led Chennai Super Kings won the toss and chose to bat first Steve Smith’s Rajasthan Royals in the 37th Match of the ongoing 2020 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Monday evening. ALSO READ | IPL 2020, CSK vs RR Preview: Battle For Survival! Chennai Super Kings And Rajasthan Royals Will Look For A Win To Stay Afloat

Both CSK and RR are currently placed seventh and eighth on the points table in the eight-team competition, with three wins each against their names from nine matches they have played so far. Hence today’s match is a do-or-die game for the former champions as both the teams now need to put in their best and win their remaining five matches. The road ahead is definitely going to be a tough and tricky one, and they know they cannot afford any more lapses from hereon in order to qualify for the bog day.

With the absence of key players like Suresh Raina and Harbhajan Singh, Chennai’s batting order has been evidently shaken up in this edition of the mega sporting event. Though its three pillars – Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, and Ambati Rayudu have been in terrific form, some strange tactics from MS Dhoni have got the team going down.

For Royals, much like CSK, its issues stem from its batting unit. Their key batsmen haven’t delivered well so far. Star all-rounder Ben Stokes is yet to fire after having joined the team late, while Jos Buttler has not been consistent enough with the bat. The one silver lining though is the fact that Steve Smith finally managed to score a half-century in a losing cause against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

It is yet to see in today’s match who will take on whom and register a step ahead in the direction of qualifying for the bigger matches.

Rajasthan Royals Playing XI: Robin Uthappa, Ben Stokes, Sanju Samson(w), Steven Smith(c), Jos Buttler, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Riyan Parag, Shreyas Gopal, Ankit Rajpoot, Kartik Tyagi

Chennai Super Kings Playing XI: Faf du Plessis, Sam Curran, Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav, Deepak Chahar, Piyush Chawla, Shardul Thakur, Josh Hazlewood

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: