IPL 2020: RCB LeapFrog Mumbai Indians finish second after an 8-wicket victory over KKR

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) dominated the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by eight wickets on Wednesday (October 21). The Indian Premier League (IPL) advanced to second place in the points table.

RCB’s medical win over KKR was seventh in ten matches and helped defending champions Mumbai Indians to second in the points table.

With 14 points in their kitty, RCB has reached the points with table toppers with Delhi capitals but is in second place with the lowest run rate.

On Wednesday evening, RCB initially restricted KKR to just 84/8 in the allotted 20 overs, then easily chased down the target, losing two wickets over six overs.

Mumbai Indians are high in their bank with 12 points in the playoff race. It is noteworthy that ‘Blue Brigade’ played less game than RCP and is likely to return to the top two spots in the points table.

KKR remained in 4th place despite losing RCP

The Kolkata Knight Riders were in fourth place this season despite a fifth defeat. KKR have 10 points from their ten league games.

Kings XI Punjab saw the biggest improvement in the points table following a hat-trick victory over Delhi Capitals, Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Both Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals are on the verge of qualifying for the play-offs as they may find themselves on the verge of elimination in the wake of losing some close matches. Meanwhile, three-time champions Chennai Super Kings are knocking themselves out of the play-off race with three wins in their ten matches.

Orange and purple cap positions

Kings XI Punjab captain KL Rahul and Delhi Capitals Deere Seamer Kagiso Rabada are leading the race to win the orange and purple caps respectively.

KXIP captain Rahul leads the run scoring list with 540 runs from 10 matches. DC opener Shikhar Dhawan finished second with 465 runs in 10 innings. KXIP opener Mayang Agarwal, who scored 398 runs in 10 innings, is third in the run-scoring list.

In the wicket-taker list, Delhi Capital’s leading wicket-taker Kagiso Rabada continues his Numero Uno position by taking 21 wickets in his 10 matches so far.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: