Hardik Pandya returns to India’s limited overs squad, injured Rohit Sharma out of Australia tour

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday (October 26) announced the Indian squad for the tour of Australia, which is set to start after the current IPL 2020. The Indian team has played three T20s, three ODIs and four Tests.

The BCCI announced the news from their official Twitter handle:

The BCCI had earlier announced that the teams for the full-time tour would be announced today (October 26). The selection committee held a virtual meeting and decided the names through video conferencing.

Virat Kohli will lead the team in all three formats. Star-opener Rohit Sharma is the biggest name not on the team. Sharma is currently out with an injury and has not played much in the last few games of the Mumbai Indians. It comes with a huge blow to the side especially in the form of white ball.

The team will be a little comforted by the return of all-rounder Hardik Pandya, who is set to return to international cricket after a long injury.

Mysterious spinner Varun Chakraborty has been rewarded for his consistent performance in the ongoing IPL 2020 – making it to the T20 squad. Mayan Agarwal and Sanju Samson are also making their names in the T20 squad, after some promising performances in the Rich League.

In the one-day line-up, a notable addition to Chapman Gill, Test team fast bowler Mohammad Siraj has recorded his place following some breathtaking improvements in the IPL this season.

Indian team for tour of Australia:

Team India T20 Team: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayang Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sunder, Yuvraj Bumra, Mohamed. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Sahar, Varun Chakraborty

Team India ODI Team: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Chapman Gill, K.L. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur

Team India Test Team: Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithviraj Shah, KL Rahul, Setheshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Subman Gill, Viruthiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Bandh (wicket-keeper), Mohammad. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Aswin, Mohammad. Siraj

Kamalesh Nagercoil, Karthik Tiyagi, Ishan Borel and D. The BCCI has also announced that four bowlers, including Natarajan, will travel with the Indian team.

They also said that the fitness of Rohit Sharma and Ishant Sharma was being monitored.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: